NYC Restaurant Week: Nobu New York

I got a reservation for one of the quickly-booked NYC Restaurant Week choices, Nobu New York, on Hudson and Franklin Streets in Tribeca, which is only participating in lunch.  I am a big fan of sushi and have always wanted to try Nobu, but I wasn’t sure what to expect.  The Restaurant Week menu appetizers included Heirloom Tomato Ceviche,

 

tomato ceviche

 

Sashimi Salad with Matsuhisa Dressing,

 

sashimi salad

 

or Squid Pasta with Light Garlic Sauce.  My friend chose the tomato ceviche, and I chose the sashimi salad.  Mine was very good, but in hindsight, I’m wishing I would’ve tried the squid pasta as I think it’s a signature dish.  For entree, the offerings included Arctic Char with Crispy Baby Spinach, Chicken with Black Sesame or Anticucho Sauce, or Assorted Sushi. 

 

assorted sushi

 

I wasn’t sure what to pick, so I ordered the assorted sushi.  The sushi was fresh, varied and delicious, my favorite piece being the salmon.  I usually order unadulterated sushi, but again, in hindsight, I wish I had ordered one of the dishes that sounded a bit more creative.  For dessert, it was chef’s choice, a Japanese tiramisu.  Let me tell you, this was delicious.  Three small cream puffs in a custard with some rich chocolate crunchies.  The only problem was that I wanted a double, or triple, serving. 

 

Japanese tiramisu

 

 

I enjoyed the meal very much and want to thank my friend for treating me to a lovely birthday lunch!

One response to “NYC Restaurant Week: Nobu New York

  1. Oooh, lucky you to feast like that at Nobu. I’m envious. And that Japanese tiramisu definitely has me intrigued.

Leave a Reply

