Dessert at Del Posto

Upon a friend’s suggestion, I had dessert at Del Posto this evening.  I’ve wanted to try it and decided on a whim to go.  Del Posto is a Joe Bastianich, Lidia Bastianich and Mario Batali restaurant.  For dessert, I ordered the Chocolate Ricotta TORTINO, Toasted Sicilian Pistachios & Extra Virgin Olive Oil Gelato

and my friend ordered the TARTUFO al Caffe, Dark Chocolate, Sant’Eustachio Coffee, & Candied Lemon. 

I wound up liking the taste of my friend’s better than mine, but I did enjoy the olive oil gelato.  In addition, we got the pastry chef’s selections for after dessert treats, served on a boxed cheese grater.  They included–from memory so these are not exact–olive oil gelato covered in chocolate on a stick, a polenta tart, a bomboloni with citrus cream, grapefruit, a caramel and something coated in bitter chocolate (and when I say bitter, I mean bitter). 

The desserts were very good, a creative use of Italian ingredients.  Del Posto’s pastry chef is Brooks Headley and you can take a class with him at La Scuola at Eataly on April 27th.

Leave a Reply

