Japanese Food

Since I’ve been reading Japanese Women Don’t Get Old or Fat by Naomi Moriyama, I’ve been craving real Japanese food–not the typical sushi restaurant fare with sushi, tempura, or teriyaki.  I want to try the foods mentioned in the book like hijiki, kombu, kaiware, dashi, daikon, burdock.  Luckily,  I live near Souen, a restaurant in the Village that has what it calls macrobiotic, or Japanese, food.  To start, I got the crunchy cabbage salad with carrot dressing.  This salad really was just shredded cabbage with a bit of dressing, not that exciting.  I also got the macro plate with steamed greens, vegetables, brown rice, chick peas and hijiki.  This came with dressing although I didn’t use any.  It was very filling and tasted great.  I liked the hijiki–brown rice–chick pea combo.  The greens looked like kale and Swiss chard.  The veggies included a wedge of kabocha squash, carrot and broccoli.  At the end of the meal, I was full.  However, I don’t think I could follow a macrobiotic diet.  I like my carbs, dairy and meat too much.  (And yes, I followed this meal with a piece of banana cream pie from a nearby bakery.)  I do want to go back and try some other things on the menu like black cod, kuzu stew, cucumber salad and watercress salads, and some of the sushi which looks very basic with just vegetables and/or vegetables and fish.

Leave a Reply

