Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks

Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks‘s shop hours are 1-7 p.m., 6 days a week and by appointment or by chance.  Ironically, by chance, I walked by 163 Tenth Street on my way somewhere else and remembered that I had always wanted to visit her cookbook shop.  Seeing a wooden OPEN sign outside, I walked up the steps to find a Dutch door and another door ajar.  Bonnie, who was sitting at a desk,  was incredibly welcoming and friendly.  The shop has new and vintage/rare cookbooks and some kitchenwares and interesting articles like handmade greeting cards and bookmarks.  I had read about Bonnie’s store in various magazines through the years, and now that I live a few blocks away, I am happy to finally visit.  Bonnie and I chatted and she checked out my blog, especially the link to NYU’s food library.  She showed me a copy of the New York World’s Fair Cook Book by Crosby Gaige that she has in shop, a book that was featured on NYU’s article about the library and that goes for $200.  In addition to her shop, she also appraises cookbooks.  I highly recommend visiting her shop.  It’s like looking through your mom’s and grandma’s collection of cookbooks and recipe booklets from days gone by.

Leave a Reply

