Happy St. Patrick’s Day

a festive take on the New York black & white

Growing up, we always celebrated St. Patrick’s Day even though we aren’t Irish.  My grandmother, then my mother, now me, made corned beef and cabbage and soda bread.  I added the tradition of drinking Guinness.  I love St. Patrick’s Day, mostly because I love any excuse to have a party.  I love this time of year, especially in New York City.  One day is cold, one day is warm, one never knows what to expect weatherwise.  There are many holidays this time of year that include various baked goods, of which I am a huge fan.  I love the St. Patrick’s Day parade, the various pipe and drum bands, the solemn yet jovial nature of the day.  I look forward to attending the parade tomorrow and am hoping I have time for some corned beef and cabbage as I’m not able to make my own this year.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!

Leave a Reply

