Zeppole di San Giuseppe

Happy St. Joseph’s Day!

St Joseph

I had wanted to attempt homemade St. Joseph’s Day pastries in honor of St. Joseph’s Day, but I’ve been having a crazy week.  I halved the pastry recipe from Maria Lo Pinto’s cookbook.  They were yummy but not quite the bakery version.  I’d like to try them again when I have more time.  These are the Sicilian sfinge with ricotta filling.  The Neapolitan version is the zeppole with a custard filling.

IMG_1769

Also, it is a tradition to make macaroni with sardines today.  I’m on a sardines kick, so I may make this too if I am able to.

4 responses to “Zeppole di San Giuseppe

  1. I love a good filled pastry. In fact I’m craving one right now. I better start on dinner before I jump right to dessert :)

  2. He is definitely a saint I love:)

Leave a Reply

