Aunt Mary’s Homemade Irish Cream

IMG_1738

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

St Patrick

Today is one of my favorite holidays, and I love to go to the parade.  One year, I did three St. Patty’s Day parades in a row–in NYC, in DC and in Raleigh, NC.  I’ve been to St. Patty’s Day parades in Hoboken (back when it was good and you could drink in the streets and the bars had free corned beef and cabbage).   I love corned beef and cabbage and soda bread and Guinness.  In fact, I made mine yesterday.

IMG_1744

This soda bread recipe (different from the one I made last year) is from a woman named Pat Burns in Molly O’Neill’s New York Cookbook.  It’s very delicious.  I used really creamy butter from Maine and full-fat buttermilk.  (I got my buttermilk from a dairy, but it was still full of gums.  It looks as if one cannot get full-fat buttermilk anymore.)

For dessert, I kept it simple by making an angel food cake and fresh whipped cream with some green food coloring.

IMG_1763

Today is a day to celebrate the Irish in America, much like Columbus Day for Italians.  Today is also the name day of someone who is very special to me.  And it also reminds me of my late Aunt Mary who died last year around this time, who like me, loved all things Irish.  So in honor of Aunt Mary, all those named Patrick, all the Irish everywhere and those who love them, I’ve made Homemade Irish Cream, from a recipe my Aunt Mary gave me years ago.  Slainte!

IMG_1723

Aunt Mary’s Homemade Irish Cream

1 egg (I use pasteurized)

1 can condensed milk

1/2 pint heavy cream

1 1/2 tablespoons chocolate syrup

3/4 cup Irish whiskey

Blend all together in a blender.  Chill and serve.

12 responses to “Aunt Mary’s Homemade Irish Cream

  1. Even through I have yet to find any Irish in my family tree, this is one of my favorite holidays. Love that you celebrate with Aunt Mary’s recipe!

  2. Wow, homemade Irish cream! That looks just delicious. :)

  3. All your festive St. Patrick’s Day fare looks like a lot of fun. I’m sure your aunt would appreciate that you are thinking of her!

  4. I am absolutely in love with your vintage pitcher and glasses, so beautiful! Are these family treasures?

  5. Oh wow. Your recipe (+ photo) looked too good not to try it. And it turned out soooo yummi!! Thank you for sharing your aunt’s recipe- I served it to my friends just a couple minutes ago and they’re blown away.
    We love it.
    Please keep posting your great recipes.
    Sophia from http://www.lebensfreudecs.blogspot.com

    • huntfortheverybest

      Thank you so much! I’m so glad you liked it. I had some on vanilla ice cream for dessert and it is soooo good!

Leave a Reply

