Hamentaschen

Purim is two days away.  St. Patrick’s Day is on Monday.  Here’s a cute article on the Purim-St. Patrick’s Day weekend in Tel Aviv.  I’ve baked up a storm of green in honor of St. Patty’s Day.  So in honor of Purim, I’ve made raspberry and apricot hamentaschen.

IMG_1690

I used this baklava hamantaschen recipe from Jenessa’s Dinners.  The only different ingredient I used was a teaspoon of vanilla instead of the optional almond extract.  This recipe makes a really workable dough.  I used a biscuit cutter to cut the dough into rounds.  Then I put a 1/2 teaspoon of jam in the middle (too much jam and it might leak out of the cookie during baking).  The important thing to remember is to fold over the dough to form a triangle (not pinch as the cookies can open.)  Also, the recipe recommends rolling the dough to 1/8 thickness.  That’s a good idea because if it’s thicker, there’s more chance of the cookies opening during baking.

IMG_1690

The traditional fillings include poppy seed and prune.  I’ve also seen apricot and hamentaschen at traditional bakeries.  Today, you’ll find some interesting hamentaschen on blogs like red velvet, s’mores, the above baklava and more.

If you don’t want to bake your own, you can find them at most grocery stores and bakeries.  My favorites are at Moishe’s Bakery on 2nd Avenue and E. 7th Street.

11 responses to “Hamentaschen

  1. The baklava filling looks great in that link. I think I’m going to have to break Lent and make some.

  2. These look fantastic. I bet the jam was tasty in these!

  3. I’ve never heard of these treats! They look excellent. Thanks for the recipe!

  4. These look delicious–happy Purim!

  5. They look yummy! I like your vanilla swap – I would have probably have done that too. I hope you had a fun Purim.

Leave a Reply

