Two for Tuesday: Desserts in a Glass

Bindi dessert company started as a bakery in Milan in 1946.  Now, it sells delicious dessert creations to restaurants.  Recently, I was able to snag one of their glass collection–coppa spagnola.  The Web site says it’s vanilla and amarena cherry gelato swirled with amarena cherries and syrup, but when I tasted it, I thought it was fabulously creamy whipped cream.  Indeed, the label on the dessert I had said it was frozen cream swirled with black cherry sauce and topped with black cherries.  I had never had their desserts before, and this was a great introduction.  If you eat it at a restaurant, I guess the restaurant keeps the glass, but I found this at a grocery store, so I was able to keep the glass.


If you’re in the mood for an ice cream sundae, Big Daddy’s has a few great options.  Big Daddy’s is a fun diner that pays tribute to pop culture in the last 50 years with pictures on the wall and items on the menu.  My friend and I got Strawberry Fields Forever–cheesecake with vanilla ice cream, strawberry topping and whipped cream–and The “Caramel” Apple–apple pie with vanilla ice cream, hot caramel sauce and whipped cream.


These large sundaes, complete with rainbow sprinkles and a cherry on top, are fun takes on classic American desserts.

Leave a Reply

