Two for Tuesday: Jelly-Filled Treats

Strawberry and raspberry are two of my favorite fruits, and I love them in jelly, jam, preserves, candy, ice cream, sorbet, gelato, etc.  If you’ve read more of my blog, you know I love a good raspberry jelly doughnut with that tiny little hole of jelly sticking out.  I’m also a huge fan of Italian doughnuts, bomboloni.  Bomboloni are even more jelly-filled than most jelly doughnuts and have an extra, sweet dollop of jelly on top.  Not only do I love the gooey slickness of jelly in jelly doughnuts, I also love preserves used in jelly cookies like hamentaschen.

Caffe Falai makes the best bomboloni in the city, hands down, but I do like the bomboloni at Bomboloni, an Upper West Side shop that specializes in the treat.  A pretty bomoboloni sprinkled with powdered sugar like a fluffy zeppole with generous ooey goo.


La Delice Pastry Shop is an old world pastry shop in Kips Bay. Its signage and corner display window of decorated cakes scream nostalgia, but the bakery keeps up with the trends, as the myriad colorful macarons connote.

When I enter a bakery like La Delice, I’m overtaken with the beauty of each pastry, cookie and cake.  I love the smells and the memories of Sunday dinners it brings.  I settle on an old bakery favorite of mine–a raspberry hamentaschen.


The hamentaschen is a bit crumbly but has a nice cookie texture and an ample amount of preserves.  I look forward to trying more from La Delice, especially macarons.

Leave a Reply

