Two for Tuesday: Ice Cream

Ice cream is our Two for Tuesday this week.  Well, ice cream-related desserts–gelato and Italian ice–to be exact.

L’arte del Gelato is my favorite gelato place in New York City.  I haven’t had a flavor here I didn’t like.  And the flavors are consistent–consistently great!  Its Web site says it uses the “finest ingredients” in their “natural state,” and I suspect that’s why the gelato here is so good.  This time, I got a flavor I hadn’t gotten before:  coconut.  A wonderfully clean coconut flavor.

Whenever I eat Italian ice, I go for the traditional lemon.  With flavors like mojito, cookie dough and pink lemonade, Andy’s Italian Ices truck delivers more than just the standards and makes lemon ice seem a little boring.  At Andy’s, there are water ices like lemon and creme ices.  My mom talks about a delicious creme ice when she was a kid called vanilla yum yum at a stand in Hoboken.  Andy’s doesn’t have vanilla, but I chose cannoli, which sounded good.  Cannoli is flecked with chocolate chips and pieces of real cannoli shell for a little crunch.  The creme ice does have an authentic cannoli-like flavor while being both creamy and refreshing.

One response to “Two for Tuesday: Ice Cream

  1. yum! coconut gelato sound so good. I’ve never had that flavor before!

Leave a Reply

