Sweets Week: Day 2: Sunrise Mart

Sunrise Mart is a few doors down from Cafe Zaiya on E. 41st Street.  In addition to being Library Way, it’s also Japan Way, with a number of Japanese eateries and grocery stores.  I’ve been to the Sunrise Mart in the East Village and fondly recall a delicious carrot ginger dressing I had there a long time ago.  Today, I went for some baked goods.  I decided upon two staples in Japanese bakeries, strawberry shortcake and melon pan.

strawberry shortcake

Verdict: The strawberry shortcake had fresh, light layers of white cake and whipped cream with sliced strawberries. In general, cakes with whipped cream frosting are too rich for me, and I usually can’t finish a whole piece. This one had the refreshing balance of light cake layers to cut the whipped cream.

melon pan

Verdict:  Melon pan is so named for its resemblance to a melon. This one didn’t have that crunchy, melon-skin-patterned crust melon pan is supposed to have.  Traditionally, melon pan doesn’t have chocolate chips, but it can be served that way as another option.  This one had a light, sweet glaze on the top.  The bread was soft and easy to pull apart, but it was a bit too doughy for me.  I know it’s not supposed to be like a chocolate chip scone, but it’s too much like a chocolate chip dinner roll for me to fully enjoy it.

One response to “Sweets Week: Day 2: Sunrise Mart

  1. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving such a lovely comment. I always enjoy clicking on comments and enjoying new blogs. You have a fascinating site here. I would love to live in NY and write about my culinary discoveries. I envy you but will be stopping by to live vicariously through your posts.

Leave a Reply

