Brunch at Benoit

I finally made it to Benoit French bistro for its famous dessert bar brunch.  All-you-can-eat dessert for $16 or a la carte at $4 each.  Benoit is a classic, clean and comfortable restaurant.  For Sunday brunch, it wasn’t overly crowded, so it’s a nice place to come to get a table easily and have conversation.  It is the perfect place to bring your parents.  Graphic artist Vahram Muratyan’s charming artwork lines the mirrored walls with side-by-side comparisons of New York and Paris.

What would the French bistro experience be without gougeres to start?

gougeres

I had the croque-madame, which was good.

croque-madame

My friend had the French toast.

French toast

As if that weren’t enough, we were brought the dessert menu.

menu

At first glance of the dessert bar,

bar

I thought red fruits,

red fruits cake

but decided instead to go for the creamy and sugary Tarte Tropezienne.  Glad I did!  It was delicious.  It had a very pleasant, unique-tasting cream. I would definitely get it again.

vanilla cream cake

My friend got the apricot tart.

apricot tart

If I return to Benoit for brunch, I will probably just do the dessert bar, so I can try a few different ones and have the room :)

Leave a Reply

