Simnel Cake

A dear friend of mine made me a simnel cake for Easter.  I had never heard of the cake before.  The cake is a fruitcake covered with marzipan and then toasted.  Traditionally, it was served on Simnel Sunday, which is the 4th Sunday of Lent, now Mothering Sunday in England.  The cake is also served for Easter.  My friend’s cake, pictured below, tasted wonderful.  I loved the marzipan layer.  And it is so beautifully decorated. 

Simnel cake

2 responses to “Simnel Cake

  1. So glad it tasted good! Definitely a cake for sweet tooths.

  2. I love the idea of a marzipan layer :) it had to be delicious. And I know how to make a marzipan! :)

Leave a Reply

