Homemade olive oil ice cream

After trying olive oil ice cream, I wanted to make my own.  I looked for a recipe, but all the recipes I found called for eggs.  I’m not a fan of egg-based ice creams, which to me are custards, so I just used a basic recipe for vanilla ice cream and tweaked it.  I have a Cuisinart ice cream freezer that has never worked correctly.  I had to put the arm at a slant so the ice cream would churn.  I also found that holding a spoon in the bowl helps it churn faster.  After freezing briefly, I had homemade olive oil ice cream.  It was delicious.  My parents, who grew up on olive oil, were skeptical of adding it to ice cream, but they proclaimed it as a triumph. 

Olive Oil Ice Cream

1 1/2 cups whole milk

1 cup heavy cream

1 cup half and half

1/2 cup sugar

1/4  cup olive oil (use high quality)

pinch salt

Mix all in ice cream freezer and freeze according to directions.  You may have to add a little more milk depending on your ice cream freezer.

8 responses to “Homemade olive oil ice cream

  1. So interesting! I never knew ice cream could be made with olive oil! Looks nice!

  2. Looks delicious, and quite unique! I don’t have an ice cream maker, but I have a technique (described here: http://cannella-vita.blogspot.com/2012/07/peach-cobbler-ice-cream.html) to make it without! I will definitely try this sometime soon!

  3. What a great post! And thanks for the little shout-out to me :-)

  4. Wow that sounds so interesting and certainly unique. Never thought of incorporating olive oil with ice cream!

  5. I regularly enjoy olive oil milkshakes as an after workout refreshment but I’ve never heard much less tried olive oil ice cream. Interesting!

  6. Love this home made ice cream. Easy to make and Delicious to eat. Love to try at this weekend. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

